Madville Board of Directors

Madville Publishing is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation registered in the state of Texas. It is governed by a voluntary board of directors.

Bill Davis, President

Madville Board of Directors President, Bill Davis is also the General Foreman for California operations for Dacon Corporation, where he oversees the construction of electrical substations from northern California to Nevada and Arizona. While not a writer himself, Bill is a great reader and supporter of the visual and literary arts.

Kim Davis, VP/Treasurer

Kim spent five years on the editorial staff at Texas Review Press, two of those as acting director. Her short fiction and nonfiction have appeared in various literary journals. She has been designing websites for over 20 years and has spent many years as an officer on nonprofit boards of directors. Her website is https://kpdavis.com.

Thom Lemmons

Thom Lemmons is the Editor-in-Chief at Texas A&M University Press. He is a publishing professional and novelist with more than 20 years’ experience as a writer, ghostwriter, editor, and publisher.

Cassy Burleson, PhD

Cassy Burleson has taught in Baylor University’s Journalism department for 20 years. A Senior Lecturer, she teaches Editing, Reporting & Writing for Mass Media, Advanced Reporting, Advanced PR, Ad Copywriting, and Writing for Media Markets. She received the Mortar Board Circle of Achievement Award (2010), the Top 10: National Federation of Press Women Communicator of the Year (2020). Burleson also received the inaugural Southwest Education Commission on Journalism and Mass Communication Award for Teaching Innovation (2021). She was elected to Baylor’s Faculty Senate 2019-2022, and we would be remiss if we didn’t mention that Cassy Burleson also brings a long history of work in the nonprofit sector.

Luanne Smith

Luanne Smith is a native Kentuckian who now lives in Florida, where she recently retired after 30 years of teaching creative writing and film at West Chester University near Philadelphia. While she was at WCU, she also directed the creative writing program for several years. Her fiction, poetry, and nonfiction have appeared in various literary journals and anthologies, and she has hosted well-received AWP Conference panels focused on women writers and the challenges women face writing gritty material and badass female characters. She endowed the Luanne and Roger Smith Reading Series at WCU, and she has edited three anthologies for Madville, Runaway: An Anthology, Taboos & Transgressions: Stories of Wrongdoing, and Muddy Backroads: Stories from off the Beaten Path.

Lucas Wilson

Lucas Wilson is a practicing attorney and former Digital Publications Editor at the Texas Review Press. He has survived most of his life as a factotum of sorts. From U.S. Sailor to apartment make-ready, 8th grade science teacher to Assistant District Attorney, he has lived a multitude lives. Lucas believes independent publishing plays a vital role in a culture’s literary tradition by fostering voices in search of developing audiences. Lucas lives in Houston, Texas.

Cherise Pollard, PhD

Cherise A. Pollard, Ph.D., is Director of the Poetry Center at West Chester University. A Cave Canem and Callaloo Fellow, Pollard was awarded a grant from the Barbara Deming Memorial Fund. Her poem, “Sugar Babe” was a Finalist for the 2015 Rattle Poetry Prize. Her chapbook, Outsiders, was chosen by C.M. Burroughs as the winner of the 2015 Susan K. Collins/Mississippi Valley Chapbook Contest sponsored by the Midwest Writing Center. Along with Wendy Scott Paff and Daniela Buccilli, Pollard is co-editor of the Show Us Your Papers poetry anthology (Main Street Rag Press, 2020).

Shopping Cart