Home » 3rd Annual Arthur Smith Poetry Prize

3rd Annual Arthur Smith Poetry Prize

Ends on Sat, Sep 30, 2023 11:00 PM

The winning poet receives a $1,000 advance, a standard royalty contract, and 20 copies of the published book. Finalists will also be considered for future publication.

Judge: Marilyn Kallet

Author Marilyn Kallet will judge the third annual Arthur Smith poetry prize. She's a white woman sitting on a porch leaning back laughing and clapping her hands. She has dark hair and wears a white peasant blouse trimmed in blue.

Marilyn Kallet recently served two terms as Knoxville Poet Laureate, June 27, 2018-July 2020. She is the author of 19 books, includingEven When We Sleep, 2022 andHow Our Bodies Learned, 2018, poetry from Black Widow Press. She has translated Paul Eluard’sLast Love Poemsand Benjamin Péret’sThe Big Game, among others. Dr. Kallet is Professor Emerita at the University of Tennessee, where she taught for 37 years. She also hosted poetry workshops and residencies for the Virginia Center for the Creative Arts, in Auvillar, France, from 2009-2018. She has performed her poems across the United States as well as in France and Poland, as a guest of the U.S. Embassy’s “America Presents” program. Her poetry appeared recently inStill: The Journal of Appalachia,Plumeand101 Jewish Poems for the Third Millennium,among others. She is the author of two children’s books,Jack the Healing CatandOne For Each Night: Chanukah Tales and Recipes, Celtic Cat Publishing.

with preliminary readers: Joshua Robbins and Darius Stewart

Poet Joshua Robbins is a white man with short brown hair, horn-rimmed glasses, and a salt and pepper beard trimmed close to his face.

Joshua Robbins is the author of “Praise Nothing” (University of Arkansas Press, 2013), part of the Miller Williams Series in Poetry, and “Eschatology in Crayon Wax” (forthcoming from Texas Review Press, 2024). His recognitions include the James Wright Poetry Award, the New South Prize, selection for Best New Poets, and a Walter E. Dakin Fellowship in poetry from the Sewanee Writers’ Conference. He teaches creative writing at the University of the Incarnate Word in San Antonio.

Poet, Darius Stewart will be one of the preliminary readers for the third annual Arthur Smith Poetry prize. He is a dark-skinned man with a shaved head and a neatly trimmed beard. He is wearing a dark shirt and a diamond stud in his ear.

Darius Stewart is the author of Intimacies in Borrowed Light (EastOver Press 2022) and Be Not Afraid of My Body: A Lyrical Memoir (Belt Publishing 2024). His poetry and creative nonfiction essays appear or are forthcoming in Arkansas InternationalBrink, The Brooklyn ReviewCallalooCimarron ReviewFourth GenreGargoyleMeridianThe Potomac ReviewSalamanderstorySouthVerse Daily and others. Darius received an MFA in poetry from the Michener Center for Writers at the University of Texas at Austin (2007) and an MFA from the Nonfiction Writing Program at the University of Iowa (2020). In 2021, the East Tennessee Writers Hall of Fame honored him with the inaugural Emerging Writer Award. He is currently a Lulu “Merle” Johnson Doctoral Fellow in English at the University of Iowa.

Competition Guidelines

  • Eligibility: We will be happy to receive work by any poet writing in English. Poems published in print or online periodicals, anthologies, or chapbooks may be included, but the manuscript itself must be unpublished. Original work only; translations are ineligible.
  • Format: Minimum of 48 pages. There is no maximum length, but we expect manuscripts not to be much more than 90 pages. Pages should be numbered with no more than one poem per page. Please include a title page with title only, a table of contents, and an acknowledgments page.
  • Simultaneous Submissions: Simultaneous submissions are acceptable. Please notify Madville Publishing immediately if your manuscript is accepted elsewhere.
  • Multiple Submissions: Submission of more than one manuscript is acceptable, but each manuscript must be submitted separately and include a separate entry fee.
  • International Submissions: We accept international submissions.
  •  Revisions: The winner will have the opportunity to revise the manuscript before publication. No revisions will be considered during the reading period.
  • Entry Fee: $25
  • Deadline: September 30, 2023.
  • Winner will be announced by December 31, 2023, and the winning collection will be published Fall 2024.
Shopping Cart